Germany – further changes in the classification of areas with coronavirus

By | 21 March 2021

On March 19 in the evening, the German Robert Koch Institute published an update of the list that classifies areas according to the incidence of COVID-19.

COVID-19 test

The most important changes:

  • countries with a high risk of infection include Poland, Bulgaria and Cyprus
  • Great Britain and Ireland have been removed from the list of countries with “variants” of the coronavirus

What does this mean for professional drivers?

1. Entry from areas included in the list of “areas with virus variants”


There are no exceptions to the registration requirement for areas with virus variants for persons involved in the transportation of goods. Therefore, employees of road, rail, water or air transport who have stayed in the mentioned above area for a while in the last 10 days are subject to registration at https://www.einreiseanmeldung.de or, in the event of problems with the operation of the system, fill in the form manually from the website available at this link and present it at the request of the relevant services.

Testing for COVID-19

In addition to the registration in German system, a negative COVID-19 test result, no older than 48 hours, is required before entering Germany from areas with variants of the virus. Confirmation of the negative test result or the appropriate medical certificate must be presented on paper or in an electronic document in German, English or French (for those entering from Italy, a certificate in Italian is also accepted). Both PCR tests and certified antigen tests are accepted.

The tests are most often carried out at border crossings and their costs range from 0 to 70 €. Therefore, it is worth doing such a test well in advance, if possible, to avoid queues at the borders and, most often, higher costs of the test itself.

List of European areas with virus variants:

  • Austria – the federal state of Tyrol (exceptions are the political district of Lienz (East Tyrol), the commune of Jungholz and the Riss valley in the commune of Vomp and Eben am Achensee)
  • Czech Republic
  • France – Moselle department
  • Slovakia

2. Entry from high incidence areas

Drivers who have been in high incidence areas in the last 10 days are required to register at https://www.einreiseanmeldung.de or – in the event of problems with the operation of the system – must fill in the form manually from the website available at this link and show it at the request of the relevant services.

The registration requirement does not apply to transport workers who have traveled the area with high incidence or the area of Germany in transit, not staying there for more than 24 hours or people moving within the local border traffic.

The current list of European high risk areas:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Montenegro
  • Estonia
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • North Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Poland
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Hungary

3. Entry from the so-called “risk areas”

Transport workers entering Germany from risk areas are exempt from the registration obligation and the obligation to have a negative COVID-19 test result.

For the list of so-called “risk areas” mostly belong the rest of Europe.

We remind you of the obligation to cover your face with masks, keep your distance and disinfect your hands. In Austria and the South of Germany, masks with the FFP2 specification or better are mandatory.

Sources: rki.de, bmvi.de